top of page
  • Hannah Brinkhurst

Pantry Chats with Shred Mango

Updated: Mar 22, 2021

You probably know Morgan Grace (aka @Shred.Mango) for her art — it's fun, creative, colourful, and uniquely manages to show the characters that develop through snowboarding. In other words, we love it. We're not the only ones either — lately Morgan has been blowing up, with her art featuring in Heroes as well as a whole load of collaborations with companies like Bro! Mitts, Zany Earth Socks, The House, Zion Snowboards, and so many more. Morgan is one of the women giving us hope that one can stay in the snowboarding scene professionally without having to be a pro rider.


So as part of our Pantry Chats series we just had to get in touch with Morgan to hear about her artwork, experiences in snowboarding, and more. Read on for our chat...




When did you find your passion for art?

I’ve pretty much been drawing since I could hold a pencil. I think the earliest drawing my parents have of mine was when I was a year old and it was a drawing of my baby brother’s face. Art has always been a part of me but I never really put much thought into making it my career until I was 16 and started freelancing. I’ve been doing that for almost 5 years now.


What about snowboarding? Again, I grew up around snowboarding. My dad rode for Nitro Snowboards back in the day, then went on to start a program which involved teaching kids to snowboard to keep them off the streets and getting in trouble. So I’ve always been surrounded by snowboarders and kids staying at my house on the weekends to attend the program on Saturdays. I always loved watching the videos and learning what I could about snowboarding but I didn’t actually strap into a board until I was 12 and I immediately hated it. I tried again when I was 13 and on the third day I fell completely in love with it — I haven’t looked back since!

How do you describe your style of art — what has influenced it to become what it is? That’s a tough one, I think to sum it up: little heads and big bodies full of love and support. I like drawing people and animals — but in an odd way. Way back in the beginning I was definitely influenced by Think Thank videos and all the animations and just the overall scene of their movies, but lately 1940's traditional tattoo art has been playing a big influence on me.




Can you share a piece you’re proud of? Why did you choose this specific piece?

This one is definitely my favorite piece right now. To me, it represents how welcoming the snowboard community is starting to become and this piece is something to show my appreciation for it.

You’re Park Crew at Andes Tower Hill, does raking and creating features relate to your art at all? I feel like I’m in a similar mindset when I’m raking or setting features. It’s like that super focus I’m in as I draw, but for making the kickers perfectly square or setting a feature straight. It’s hard to explain but it’s mostly that I can find that same headspace while out in the cold and late nights playing around in the snow. You have several mediums of art such as illustration, animation, and film photography. What camera do you shoot with and why do you choose film over digital? I use a few different cameras: an Olympus Stylus, Minolta X370, Canon AE-1 Program, and a Mamiya RB67. I could never really get into using a digital camera honestly, I don't like how pictures turn out and I’m completely clueless when it comes to editing photos. So when I picked up shooting film last year I fell in love with the appearance of the film and how each kind had a completely different look without even touching it in Photoshop. Plus I just really love that analog camera shutter sound, and I’ve always loved having more of a challenge like learning how to manually operate the cameras with every single shot.


Speaking of film, you were part of the Heroes book by Jérôme Tanon. What was it like being part of this one of a kind all female (and Jérôme) project and how was it different, if at all, from other projects you have been a part of? That was by far one of the most surreal projects I’ve ever worked on. I’ve known Jérôme for a few years now from doing collaborations together, and he would always tell me how he had this big plan for an all women’s project. I never really imagined it was gonna be as big as it was — I got to work alongside riders like Jamie Anderson, Desiree Melancon, Marie France Roy, and so many others! I don’t think any of us thought it was gonna blow up as much as it did and I’m so incredibly thankful I got to be a part of such an amazing project! Tell us about your dream collaboration; what type of goods would you want to see your art on and with who? Ooh that’s a tough one! I have so many companies I want to work with, but the one I’ve been dreaming about since day one is Vans. I would absolutely love to collaborate on some Vans snowboard boots, create animations, or even ads for them! So if anyone from Vans is here reading this, hit me up!


Have you been faced with any discrimination as a female in the snow industry? Not much actually, other than a lot of people assuming I’m a guy if they don’t know me personally, because there really aren’t many women in the industry doing what I’m doing. I honestly didn’t even know there were other woman artists in the snowboarding industry up until last year! It’s really just crazy! What do you feel is the biggest barrier we face as women trying to make it in the snow industry (whether it be as a artist, rider, photographer, builder, writer, etc.)? What radical changes need to happen to fix this? I think it has to be, in my opinion, how it’s hard to even find women in the industry. When I started really getting into snowboarding and everything surrounding it, I had no clue there were women street riders, photographers, artists, or anything! It wasn’t until a couple years ago I found out about more women in the industry, but I really had to search. I think that’s getting better now, but I would love to see more female riders and women that aren’t pro snowboarders, like photographers and artists being put up front in the industry. I think we need to see more of that. What would you tell your younger self, or the next generations of females coming up? I feel like this is really cliche but I wish I'd heard this more: don’t give up on a dream just because people tell you it’s impossible. There are going to be a lot of people doubting you and your abilities, but determination and not losing hope in a dream will bring you to the best places!


3AM Questions How would your grade five teacher describe you? I was homeschooled by my mom all the way through but, she would definitely say I’m the goofiest person she knows.

If you were go to jail, what would be the crime? Probably something that would involve being in a high speed car chase.

What podcast/book are you reading right now? Definitely been listing to The Bomb Hole and I’ve been reading a book called Classic Climbing Stories about rock climbing! If you could be any animal, what would it be and why? A cat. They just seem like they live in a whole other dimension and I would love to be a part of that. Something or someone that inspires you? My friends and family. They always give me ideas for new drawings even if they don’t mean to.

What’s your go-to beverage? La Croix. Any flavor except coconut.

An artists worst enemy? Art block or getting an idea for a piece to realize you don’t have anything to write down or draw that idea out and it gets lost forever.


Any last words?

SPREAD THE PEACE!


 

Thanks again to Morgan all of the amazing art and creativity she brings to the snowboarding culture, and for spending her time answering our questions! We're excited to see what she's going to do next — but in the meantime you can go ahead and sign us up for a pair of those ShredMango X Vans snowboard boots. Go follow Morgan @shred.mango.....like right now!



34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page